Beach Reads in December

by Gabrielle Bucci,
LBPH Reader Advisor

I know the holidays are upon us and it’s a favorite activity for some to indulge in Debbie Macomber’s annual Christmas publication or a Richard Paul Evans title to get in the spirit of things. I, however, don’t want to read anything that reminds me of that singular despicable aspect of winter: THE SNOW! We’ve had some terrible weather these last few years with subzero temperatures I’m in no hurry to get reacquainted with. Colder climates aside, I suppose I can appreciate the whimsy of prancing through the white stuff but only if there’s a pumpkin spice latte at the end of the road.Snowman made of sand wearing sunglasses on the beach

One activity I find helpful to get me through the season is enjoying an audiobook set to a much warmer and more tolerable setting. I particularly enjoyed the golden city of San Francisco in Armistead Maupin’s Mary Ann in Autumn (DB 72107) while the snow piled up last February. One place in particular I wouldn’t mind being during these upcoming months is the beach. But since getting there won’t be very likely for many of us this winter, here are some titles to keep us dreaming of warmer days ahead:

Barefoot Season
by Susan Mallery
DB 74395
Wounded army veteran Michelle Sanderson returns to her family’s Puget Sound island inn that is now run by her onetime friend, single mom Carly Williams. The women attempt a working relationship despite their past betrayals and current problems.

Beach Town
By Mary Kay Andrews
DB 82313 / CL 15766
Location scout Greer Hennessy has found the perfect Florida beach town for a film, but local mayor Eben Thibadeaux doesn’t want movie people descending on his town. While romance blooms between Eben and Greer, drama on the movie set causes problems.

Leave a comment